From Saturday 9 to Sunday 24 March 2024
Click Here to Join Our Mailing List

Ekins Chandler Lowe Trio

Ekins Chandler Lowe Trio
20 November 2023 Barnes Music Festival
20th Mar 2024

Ekins Chandler Lowe Trio

The ever-popular Henry Chandler and John Paul Ekins return to the Barnes Music Festival, this year with cellist Tim Lowe.

Debussy’s cello Sonata for Cello and Piano, often noted for its modern-day commedia dell’arte feel, exudes a raw, heart-on-the-sleeve, and darkly humorous sensibility. This piece is the most unrefined and emotionally exposed among Debussy’s three sonatas, possibly even among all his compositions, embodying a unique blend of intensity and vulnerability.

Tchaikovsky Piano Trio, is the only work he wrote for a combination of piano, violin and cello. It is subtitled À la mémoire d’un grand artiste [In memory of a great artist], in reference to Nikolai Rubinstein, his close friend and mentor, who had recently died. This is preceded by the Divertimento from The Fairy’s Kiss, a neo-classical ballet composed by Igor Stravinsky in 1928.

This programme celebrates legendary Barnes resident Ninette de Valois.

Henry Chandler, Violin
John Paul Ekins, Piano
Tim Lowe, Cello


Debussy Cello Sonata
Stravinsky “Divertimento” from The Fairy’s Kiss
Tchaikovsky Piano Trio

Concert Patron Stephen Beard

Photo Credit: @lngaze